the fall


 

 

Image

I draw me 

into a circle 

my voice breaks

in shivers 

like fine shattered glass 

spilling, my hair falls

crying 

with me

laid out on the floor 

I lay so still 

quiet now 

that the river has broke 

for all the tea in china 

could not glue this teacup 

together again 

my mother as old as tea 

pours her brains 

onto the floor 

with my distress 

drawing a circle

full moon

around our world 

and for twenty minutes 

we lay undisturbed 

for all the tea in china 

couldn’t put the leaves that fall

back onto the trees that held 

we lay together

in an autumn moon 

for winter to freeze over our fall 

with hope that love will grow us again 

a better place a better world 

away from the leaves

that fall 

with time 

 

Feel free to leave your comment

